New Blogs I Am Following: Blogging 101 Day Three

Posted: June 11, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

The assignment for Day Three was to roam the wide world and find five blogs to follow. That was harder than I thought it would be and this post feels vaguely familiar.

I found blogs that speak to my various goals and passions. There are two blogs about being a bard, two blogs about fighting and more, a blog about paganism, and the blog from a young lady on her way to a laurel and/or pelican.

BardLog The first blog about the bardic arts, I was caught by the fifth installment of his new series about the Deadly Bardic Sins. I look forward to reading the rest. I am not optimistic that I will ever be a popular skald, but I do want to find the skill to enjoy my own playing and the audience response to it. Already, I have learned from this blog.

Protege Life is the work of a young lady in the SCA who has taken on a great task and is kindly blogging about it so we can follow along. Her journey as a protege will be somewhat different than my journey as a squire, but I am excited to see how she experiences her undertaking.

Studying Chivalry is written by an SCA fighter who, like me, wonders to what extent to our notions of chivalry can and should outline our daily lives. he is spending a year in meditation about this topic (certainly a quest worthy of a knight) and I look forward to seeing what he finds.

The Lefthander’s Path concerns magic and Druidism and the esoteric. She is a member of the ADF and has a Celtic outlook where mine is more influenced by the North. She does write some on the Northern Gods and heathenism, and I find her fascinating even when I disagree with her wholeheartedly. It was through her blog that I found the Heathen Round Table. I suspect that Round table will be a huge influence on my writing habits.

Santiago’s Grimoire is another blog written by an SCA fighter. A very accomplished performer and rapier fighter, he has decided to again put on the hard suit and fight heavy. We have a great deal in common including our ages and the fact that we see our fighting as part of a greater path that includes performance and Dragons.

Drake Orenwood is the final bard on this list. I intyend to gather from his writing and his commentary on his own songs and works.

There you have it. The seven blogs I found today when searching my interests. I hope you’ll visit some of them and find something well needed for your path.

Leave a Reply

