Who I Am and What I’m Doing Here: An Assignment for Blogging 101

Posted: June 10, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
The Trossingen Lyre recovered from Trossingen Grave #58.

The Trossingen Lyre

There are two people writing this blog and I am both of them.
The first is Joey “Moonbase” Hall and he is just sorting some things out. You know, the usual stuff; the wars, childhood, love, life, kittens, fatherhood. That stuff.

The second person is Einar Hrafnsson, a 9th Century Dane who has somehow found himself striving for knighthood in the Kingdom of Caid in AS 50. He’s far more interesting than the other guy. In fact, this post is written mostly by him.

I’ve been away from my blog for several months. I got hurt, I got lost, and I didn’t write. I’m doing the Blogging 101 course again to get started and look at me: I’m already days behind that schedule.

Both of the persons writing this blog and living this life are semi-educated pagans, dedicated to the worship of ancestors and Northern Gods. They are both students of runes and the secrets of the bersekr.

I have ambitions. Some of them are difficult to share because they seem unlikely for me. I am embarassed of my failure in advance.

I’m a fifty year old man who has been beat up by the army and other causes and I spend time training and fighting trying to win a belt I should have won before I was thirty.

I do not read music or play any instrument, but I want to write poetry and music and play the lyre and recorder. More than that, I want to be a skald. I want to sing songs and make stories that honor heroes and gods and have people actually enjoy listening to them. That is worth a post on its own, perhaps.

My son and I also do a good deal of woodworking. We craft bows and arrows and intend this summer to build lyres modeled after that found in Trossingen. That, too, is worth its own post.

I am subjecting you good gentles to these thoughts because I want your feedback, because I want your approval, because I need your encouragement, and because I hope to somehow inspire some like minded soul to reach out in like manner. I want you to know me and to wish you knew more, even as I do for those who write the blogs I follow.

I want to find here a community of warrior poets…and those who would want the company of such.  I would seek the counsel of swordsmen and poets and priests. Of magicians and witches and skeptics. Of nobles and peasants and rogues.

I want to find fascinating company and I hope you will be part of that.

Leave a Reply

